11. The Corpse Reviver No. 2

The name of this drink is entirely inappropriate for the occasion, but it contained gin (a favorite of Annie’s) and we had all of the ingredients on hand.

Let me back up. Annie Benson is a cherished roommate, friend, and fellow beach lover. This summer we spent a day pretending to be back home in California. We body surfed on the wakes of boats in Lake Michigan, we made margaritas, enchiladas, and then we basked in the sun on our stoop.

Annie is a rare friend, she just gets me. I hardly have to say a word, and she already knows how I am feeling and what I am thinking abut how I am feeling. She brings out the goofiest side of me. We sing about our vegetables while we cook them, she gives me a pep talk on my way out the door, and we occasionally dance on couches.

So you can understand why there is a small part of me that is jealous of Jordan (her fiancé). However, the other part of me is jumping up and down with joy, until my calves seize up and I cannot jump anymore.

I made this drink on Sunday afternoon in spontaneous celebration when Annie asked me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. This is an event entirely worthy of celebrating because there are few things that I love more than weddings, and being a bridesmaid is not a role to take lightly. Standing beside your friend is a testament that you will stand beside them for as long as they both shall live.

I didn’t just accept Annie’s invitation to pick out a dress for me, and to help her host the party of the year (but get ready everyone); I accepted the invitation to support her marriage, pray for her marriage, and encourage her and Jordan to honor the Lord in all that they do.

Weddings remind me of what it means to be a friend— party hard, pray harder.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

The Corpse Reviver No. 2 Recipe

1 oz Gin

3/4 oz Cocchi Americano (my new fav. ingredient)

3/4 oz Cointreau (I used Grand Marnier, and it was lovely)

3/4 oz Lemon Juice

Combine ingredients in the bottom of a shaker. Add ice, and have a enthusiastic 20 second dance party. Pour into a chilled coupe glass and garnish with a lemon twist.

Leave a Reply

