12. Vesper

“Vesper” is a loose translation of the Latin “eventide.” It represents the time when day becomes night. Violet hour.

Sundown formally meant that work must end. Without the sun, I could not be productive. Evening was a time to be with family, to worship God, and to rest.

I work from home. And days like today (when everything melts down), it is all too easy to remain online far beyond my productive limit. I love my work, but my ultimate satisfaction does not come from my job.

The violet hour arrived tonight in glory. As my living room became gold, then pink, then dark, I knew the weekend had arrived. I am never free from responsibility, but I will admit, I highly prefer my weekend responsibilities to those of the week.

Preparing food, serving at church, exercising, and pouring into the lives of friends; these are the things that my weekends are made of.

Crafting and consuming this cocktail was exactly what I needed to transition out of my work week and into the weekend. I recommend this cocktail for anyone who is committed to unplugging for a moment (unless of course you are James Bond.)

SONY DSC
“Very large and very strong. Very cold. Very well-made.”- James Bond

Vesper Recipe

3 oz London Dry Gin

1 oz Vodka

1/2 oz Cocchi Americano

Lemon twist to garnish.

Combine ingredients and stir with ice. Strain into a chilled martini glass and garnish with lemon.

Leave a Reply

