13. The Clover Club

I love love. And I have never needed a holiday to remind me of that fact. However, since we have one, I am not going to pass up the opportunity to celebrate.

“Significant Other” is a dreadfully limited concept. All of the others in my life are significant. The man who told me about his country band on the L is significant. Daren who works at Trader Joe’s is significant. My friends, my coworkers, my family- they are all significant.

We are lovers at heart because we are made in the image of Love Himself. John writes, “We love because He first loved us.” God set this all in motion when he created us. So if you are down on Valentine’s Day, I hate to break it to you, but love is here to stay.

Love is fundamental to our beings, and it defines us to our very cores. While I wish I could say that I am defined by my ability to love, the truth is, I am not always very good at that. The truest thing about me is that I am loved, most ardently (to quote one Mr. Darcy.)

I challenge you to expand your definition of significance today. Chances are that there is more than one person who’s day would be improved if they knew that you were thinking of them. And I can guarantee you that there is one, who is above all, who never once stops thinking of you.

Happy Valentine’s Day, shake up this festive cocktail for someone significant in your life.

tails_of_glory_finals-02tails_of_glory_finals-06tails_of_glory_finals-09tails_of_glory_finals-10tails_of_glory_finals-15tails_of_glory_finals-16

The Clover Club Recipe

2 oz. Gin

5 Raspberries (plus a few to garnish)

A splash of Simple Syrup

1 Egg White

1/2 oz. Lemon Juice

Measure the gin, raspberries, and simple syrup into a cocktail shaker. Muddle raspberries to “express the juices” as they say. Add the egg white, lemon juice, and ice. Shake! Pour into a chilled coupe glass and garnish.

 

All of the praise for these gorgeous pictures goes to Louie Abellera. Check out his work, book him @ http://www.louieaweddings.com

 

Leave a Reply

